Vancouver Chinatown

I never did find out what happened to Roy that day nor did I care because there were other more important things happening at home. Now I know who was in the ambulance when the fire engine and ambulance came. You see, it was my Uncle. He was the one who was on the gurney. As a mechanic in the gas station, he was working on a car, and had fallen in that dark pit when he was checking things out. It was a real freaky accident and I have no idea how it happened. My Parents were pretty worried about him and figured that Uncle Willy had slipped on some oil and then fell in. It was a real bad fall but luckily he didn’t hit his head. It could have been more serious and today they had gone to the hospital to see him. I sighed as I picked up my Chinese readers, pens and stuff I needed for class. Gosh, how I wish I could stay home but then what good would that do? I would just have to babysit the sibs and clean the house. Why is life so unfair? So many things to do. I grabbed my coat,an umbrella, opened the door and headed out yelling, “I’m going now – Wait until Aunty comes and don’t leave the house.” Outside it had started to rain and I wrapped my heavy scarf around my neck so I wouldn’t get chilled or wet and lifted the umbrella over my head. Just then, I heard Ann’s voice, “Hey, wait for me.” Ann was out of breath and said as she grabbed my right arm to share my umbrella, “Good, I’m glad to see you today.” I laughed and said, “Why?” Look over there!” Yes, there was another problem. Eight Chinese girls who really hated Ann and of course I was with her so it meant I was on that hate list too. Oh great!

About valerieleeworks

Author of The Jade Rubies and A Long Way to Death Row, from many years of candid interviews with Charles Chi-tat Ng
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

