Vancouver Chinatown

When I was young, I figured that life would always be the same – that’s how I felt growing up. If I had known about the many changes that was going take place, I would have reacted differently and savor the moment and taken in more sights.

Chinatown is like a little world of its own, an colorful place with bright neon lights and all kinds of shops and restaurants and a place for me to explore.  It was exciting down there and often I would pause to look in the store window displays to see what they were selling.  I didn’t even mind the terrible stench emanating from crates of live, squawking chickens.   I always felt safe down there wandering around the familiar streets even when the weather was cold, rainy or snowy.  Having grown up there everyone knew everyone else.  However, being young there were many places that I was unaware of – these are the buildings with just Chinese characters and I didn’t learn about the business behind that door until I was much older.  But I didn’t care, my little  part of the world was enough for now.  I smiled as I went into Jong Wah to buy some candy.    

About valerieleeworks

Author of The Jade Rubies and A Long Way to Death Row, from many years of candid interviews with Charles Chi-tat Ng
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

