caged

 My friend is fascinated and very sympathetic to prisoners so one day she asked if I would go with her inside a prison to see an inmate.  I was shocked and didn’t know how to react but then she said to me, “You do know that sometimes innocent people get locked up and they shouldn’t be in there. Come on, just this once, come with me!”  I pulled away from her and said, “Are you kidding? I haven’t even been inside a city jail, so why would I want to go inside a prison which is much worse. ”  She laughed and said, “No. I’m serious about this.   I’m talking about going into Folsom State Prison where the hardened prisoners are!”  Now I thought she was insane.  “No way I said. Isn’t that the prison that Johnny Cash was in?”  Then she looked at me and touched my shoulder, “That’s right,he was in there to entertain the prisoners.  Doesn’t that arouse your curiousity?”  At that moment I didn’t know what to say.  How was I going to turn her down nicely?

About valerieleeworks

Author of The Jade Rubies and A Long Way to Death Row, from many years of candid interviews with Charles Chi-tat Ng
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

