Being Chinese

I’ve always felt as though I had the best of both worlds.  I was Chinese living in Canada and it was really great growing up in the Vancouver Chinatown area.  It was like a world of it’s own.  We all went to Strathcona School, Chinese school and even the Chinese YWCA was right there on Pender Street where we could all hang out since there was all kinds of activities that we could participate in. That’s where I learned how to play ping-pong, met friends and got involved with several clubs and felt a sense of belonging.  That’s also where I heard many stories and life was interesting.  What made it exciting at that time was that we all knew everyone else and it was safe.

About valerieleeworks

Author of The Jade Rubies and A Long Way to Death Row, from many years of candid interviews with Charles Chi-tat Ng
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment