human trafficking

Many of us go to hairdressers at least once a month.  When you are having your hair done, do you ever think about the person who is working on you?  Being curious I often wonder where they come from but I don’t usually inquire right away. I wait because eventually they will ask me first.  To us Asians it’s nothing since there are so many of us that come from different Asian countries. We are not offended by that question.  In the past I never thought anything of it when the beautician said that she was a sister or niece of the owner of the shop and she was from either Thailand, Vietnam or China but when I see men lingering around coming through the back door, then I know it’s a front for something illegal, usually prostitution.  Could this have been going on when I was young and totally unaware of it?

About valerieleeworks

Author of The Jade Rubies and A Long Way to Death Row, from many years of candid interviews with Charles Chi-tat Ng
This entry was posted in Human Trafficking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

